Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Wind Quintet #1, in C "Prayers Ascending"

Scored for Flute, Oboe, English Horn, Clarinet, Bassoon. Opus 46.

This work was begun on Saturday December 15th, 2012, and completed early in the morning of December 19th. It is cast in three movements:

First Movement –  Prayers Ascending (7:20)

A slow neo-classical movement, a depiction of eyes turned upward, of guilt, grief, and shock, in the wake of what seems more like an act of nature, than the act of a human. There is a Youtube video here.

Second Movement –  Painted Faces (3:02)

An introduction and fugue after the style of Palestrina, a funeral procession.

Third Movement – Fantasia (Spirit) (5:04)

A scherzo, in the tradition of Beethoven, following the heroic spirit as it flies forth into the world, urging people to be better than they were before, and rise to the occasion.